Hamburger Helper… All Grown Up!

For decades, Hamburger Helper has been one of my favorite dinners. We didn’t eat it much in our home when I was a kid, but on those days when mom didn’t want to cook and dad didn’t want to spend money on Chinese or pizza, we’d bust out a box of Hamburger Helper, defrost a pound of ground beef from the freezer, and soon enough we’d be enjoying a high-sodium, saturated fat laden, cheesy, hot, abso-freaking-lutely delectable dinner.

As recent as college (wow, has it already been 3 and a half years since I graduated??) I would make and enjoy Hamburger Helper on my own terms… which was much more frequently than when I was a kid! My boyfriend and I would easily polish off a box of the stuff between the two of us. And, yes, each box has 5 servings… at about 330 Calories each… you do the math!

Now that I’m a bit less naive, I understand that this stuff isn’t exactly the best thing for you. Although wisdom comes with age, a change in certain tastes does not! I still long for that yummy dinner that I adored so much way back when! Well, it’s time to make my Hamburger Helper grow up.

I’ve been a fan of Trader Joe’s Soy Chorizo for a long time. Though salty, a little goes a long way and its texture and flavor are absolutely identical to real chorizo. I knew this would be better than plain seitan for this dish because of the spice and flavor it adds to everything it is with.

As far as the cheese sauce, I needn’t look any further than The Kind Diet‘s vegan “cheez” sauce. I use this recipe so often that I am almost to the point of needing to buy nutritional yeast in bulk! I don’t follow her recipe exactly, but the ingredients are pretty much the same.

As far as the pasta goes, I could’ve gone with macaroni… but where’s the fun in that? We happened to have fusilli pasta (little bowties) on hand and figured this would be a great, grown-up alternative to the plain ol’ macaroni we’re all familiar with.

“Meat”? Check. “Cheez” sauce? Check. Pasta? Check.

image

Vegan Non-Burger Helper
Makes 3 servings.

  • 3 cups fusilli pasta (or macaroni)
  • 1/2 Trader Joe’s Soy Chorizo
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened soy milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 1 tbsp tamari (or regular soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp Earth Balance (or other vegan margarine)

Prepare pasta according to directions. While pasta is boiling, heat Earth Balance in a large pan on medium-high heat until melted. Add minced garlic and cook until garlic is fragrant and turns golden, stirring constantly to avoid burning. Add all remaining ingredients except pasta, whisking until combined and hot. If the sauce is too thick or begins to dry up, add a bit more soy milk one tablespoon at a time; if it is too thin, add more nutritional yeast 1-2 teaspoons at a time. Lower heat to medium-low and add pasta. Stir until pasta is completely coated in the sauce. Serve hot.

Note: If you plan on storing this and reheating it later on, be sure to add at least 2 tbsp of milk per serving when reheating, because the sauce will dry up while reheating if you don’t!

To say that this was a trip down memory lane was an understatement. I’ll never have to buy another box of Hamburger Helper again!

One response

  1. Pingback: WIAW #3 | Flirting With Food

Leave a Reply

