Sayonara

As mentioned before, I’ve been packing. A lot.

I’ll be leaving on Friday 10/21 for Japan for a 3-week-long business trip. Yup: three weeks in a country that I’ve never visited (and have always wanted to)! Sure, I’ll be doing work for at least 8 hours every weekday, but that won’t stop me from seeing the sights, experiencing the culture, and especially eating the food!

I found a list of 100 foods to try in Japan, and I intend to try as many as possible!

There are plenty on the list that I’ve eaten here in the states (natto, tofu, onigiri, tonkatsu, soba, tamago, edamame, umebochi, mochi, sashimi) I not only want to try those while in Japan so that I can have the true experience, but I want to try a ton of new things, of course! I’m especially intrigued by…

…to name a few!

My mostly-vegan eating habits are probably going to sit on the backburner for the trip, as I’ve read that vegan and vegetarian eats are hard to come by over in Japan. Even my strict vegetarian friend said he had to consume animal-based products while there. You’d think soup would be an easy thing for herbivores in Japan, but most of the soups are made with fish- or beef-based broths!

Anyway, I’m really, really excited to head to a new continent and embrace the local flair! During my time away, I probably won’t be blogging much, but I’ll try to do so once in a while.

Sayonara minasan!

6 responses

    • I’m going to make a point to visit Kyoto during my time in Japan. I’ll be in Nagoya, and I don’t think it’s very far to Kyoto from there, right? I’ll also definitely be going to Tokyo as well!

      Thanks for your comment – I’ll keep an eye out for vegetarian options!

  1. Hey, they sell Hi-Chew at most 7-11 in Strawberry and Apple flavors. My favorite in Japan though were Grape and the Fall Apple flavor (a red apple package instead of a green one).

    My favorite things to eat while I was in Japan were Curry, Garlic Ramen, and Shabu Shabu :P

Leave a Reply

